Friday, October 9, 2015

Pestaño: Karjakin wins weirdest World Cup

THE 2015 FIDE World Chess Cup came to an end in Azerbaijan’s capital, Baku the other day with 128 of the world’s best players, including five former world champions, joining the major tournament considered by experts as the oddest world cup ever.
Eight of the top 10 players, most of them with Elo 2800s ratings, were eliminated in earlier rounds including our Wesley So. The surprise finalists were Sergey Karjakin and Peter Svidler.
Karjakin, became the youngest ever player in history to become grandmaster at 12 and prior to the world cup, was at No.11 in the world with a rating of 2762, while Svidler was at No. 26 and had a rating of 2726.
The match, a combination of classical, rapid and blitz games, delivered amazing moves and unexpected blunders. All 10 games were decisive with no draws. Svidler won the first two classical games and needed only a draw in the remaining two games to win. I think it was all a question of nerves why Karjakin came back from the grave.
Svidler expressed regrets that he was unable to win the match after having had many opportunities to do so. “I didn’t do it, I don’t deserve it,” he said.
Summarizing the final bout, Karjakin said that the match was any man’s game and that it could end with either player on top.
“Once it was time to tiebreak, me and Svidler were exhausted. Therefore, the game could go fast in any scenario. In the end, I won the World Cup and I think this is the best achievement of my career,” he said.
Karjakin earned $120,000, while Svidler got $80,000. The usual practice of Fide getting 20 percent of the prizes was paid for by the organizers.
Cepca. In celebration of the Club’s silver anniversary this year, we had a grand tournament last month at SM City that was widely accepted as the most prestigious and biggest this year.
On Oct. 24 at 6 p.m.,we will be holding a grand party at the Sacred Heart Center Social hall along Jakosalem St. This will also serve as our annual general membership meeting and election of new officers and induction of new members.
The Club will also recognize the founders and past presidents of the club, honorary members, selected members and some local media practitioners.
The awardees are past presidents Frank “Boy” Pestano (founder), Alex Tolentino (founder), Gerry Tomakin (founder–posthumous) Ben Dimaano, Danny Pestano (founder-posthumous), Nicnic Climaco (founder), Norway Lara, Mandy Baria, Manny Manzanares,Jojo Muralla and Jun Olis.
Honorary members are Bombi Aznar (posthumous), Benjamin Lim, Kelly Uy, Darcy Tabotabo, former mayor Alvin Garcia, Andrew Aznar and Mayor Mike Rama.
Outstanding members are Art Ynclino (founder-posthumous), Sonny Sollano (founder-posthumous), Luis Minoza (founder-posthumous, Susan Itaas and Josito Dondon.
Our next monthly tournament is on Oct. 18 18th at the ground floor of Handuraw Gorordo at 2 p.m.. Children of Cepca members are also invited including ladies varsity players.
Marie Ernestine. The first and only school in the Philippines that includes chess in their curriculum will hold a tournament at Handuraw Gorordo on Oct 17 at 2 p.m.. Participants will be players from Grades 3 to 6 exclusive from their Talamban Campus. They have undergone specialized chess instruction for the past four months.
Prizes will be minor home appliances with a trophy going to the champion. Cepca lady member Therese dela Torre, who is also the school’s chess instructor, will conduct the tournmanet.

No comments: