Saturday, December 27, 2014

Pestaño: Busy schedule for Cebu chess

Monday, December 29, 2014

JIMMY TY JR. proved his big win last year was no fluke as he crushed NM Arnold Cadiz (2-0) in their showdown for the championship to retain the title as Cepca Grand Champion for 2014. He received a cash prize of P3,000 and a beautifully crafted trophy for his feat. Ty is a civil engineer now based in Tacloban City, his hometown.
Cadiz settled for the second place, while Rosendo Yamyamin defeated Rey Flores in their own battle for third place.
The score after five rounds among the 12 finalists were Jimmy Ty Jr. (4.0), Arnold Cadiz (4.0), Rosendo Yamyamin (3.5), Rey Flores (3.5), Ben Dimaano (3.0), Tony Cabibil (3.0), Carlo Maraat (2.5), Jun Kidlat (2.0), Maggi Dionson (2.0), Amado Olea (2.0), Peterson Sia (2.0) and Jerry Maratas (1.0).
In the double knockout semifinals, Ty won over Yamyamin and Cadiz defeated Rey Flores.
In the non-qualifiers side event, the winner was Jojo Muralla (4.5). He was followed by Jessa Balbona ,Mario Bustillo and Andrew Balbona, who all had 4.0 points.
Former Cebu City Mayor Alvin Garcia inducted nine new Cepca members of the club. Among our newest members are three brainy and lovely ladies -Therese dela Torre, Engr.
Harveyjane Aliman Hilvano and Jessa Balbona. The others are Dominic Inso Morre, Norman Martin B. Olayvar, Mario Bustillo, Edwin Cablao, Regelito Hortelano and Denster Abella.
The Deep Blue Christmas tournament was held last Dec. 18-19 in SM. The format for this event was seven rounds Swiss, with the top 16 playing a double knockout elimination.
The semifinalists were Richard Natividad, Ronald Ganzon, Joel Pacuribot and Arnold Cadiz. Natividad won the title and the P8,000 top prize, while Ronald Ganzon finished second. Pacuribot and Cadiz got the third and fourth spots, respectively.
The Mayor Junie Martinez Open tournament was held last Dec. 22-23 at the Bogo City Public Plaza. The winners were Carlos Moreno, Ronald Ganzon and Romel Ganzon. Moreno got P5,000 and Ganzon earned P3,000.
The Cebu Chess Masters also held the Christmas Blitz/Active Chess tournament at Robinson Cybergate last weekend.
Joel Pacuribut got P4,000 and a trophy after winning the active format, while Rogelio Enriquez and Vicmil Pepito got the second and third places, respectively. Vic Glyssen Derotas was the top secondary player, while Alphard Gonzales was the top elementary player.
In the Blitz category, the winners were Alfer Fernandez, former Sun.Star Cebu sports editor Jobanie Tabada and Arnonito Cadiz.
The 2nd Mayor Democrito M. Diamante and Vice Mayor Danny M. Diamante Chess Team Tournament (Cebu Inter-Cities and Municipalities) was held at Tuburan last weekend with 12 teams.
It was open to all cities (except Cebu City) and municipalities of Cebu. Each team was composed of four regular players and each player was required to bring his voter’s ID or certification from the Comelec Registrar of their respective town or city. Cepca played as guest, being one of the sponsors.
Toledo won the title and P25,000, while Minglanilla got second place and P15,000. The rest of the top six teams and their prizes are Tuburan A (P10,000), Mandaue (P7,000), Cepca B (P5,000) and Cepca C (P3,000). The other participants were Bogo, Argao, Cepca A, Tuburan B and C and Moalboal..
Toledo City was bannered by Rolzon Roullo, Glen Pardillo, Bonn Tibod and Cris Tubalado, while Cebuano legend IM Rico Mascarinas played for Tuburan A. The Cepca B players were Cocoy Lepiten, Jun Kidlat, Ruel and Regelito Hortelano, while the Cepca A players were Kimkim Yap, Jimmy Ty.
Percival Fiel and Jun Olis. Cepca C players were the Balbona family.
Mayor Diamante awarded the prizes and gave two lechons after the tournament. Thank you sir for the warm hospitality as was an enjoyable tournament!

No comments: